News‎ > ‎

Kildangan GAA AGM Report

posted 20 Dec 2013, 14:41 by Unknown user   [ updated 20 Dec 2013, 14:52 ]
Our 2013 AGM was held on Sunday evening, 15th December in Kildangan Hall. A large attendance heard details of the season past and the plans in place for 2014. 

Club secretary Maureen Fitzgerald opened proceedings by reading her report detailing the happenings of 2013. In what was a comprehensive report, highlights included a good championship run for the senior team following a disappointing league. Maureen reported on the many fundraising activities, including the three legged race, field day, table quiz, 5K and 10K, a number of hunt chases and the pigeon house lotto. 

The treasurer reported on the financial situation in the club which remains healthy, despite the challenging economic situation. A vote of thanks was passed from the floor in recognition of the hard work done by Fiona since the foundation of the club in 2001.

Chairman Gabriel Murtagh opened his address by highlighting the tremendous effort put in by the senior players and management in 2013. The chairman recognised the important role played by the management team of John Scanlon and Davy Anderson and welcomed the fact that they have agreed to manage the team again in 2014. 
The Chairman stated that 2013 had been a successful year at juvenile level as the team had fielded in all competitions from under 21 down, with the exception of our under 15s. He recognised the Under 16s for their exciting win in the Shield completion, where they overcame a strong Carbury challenge to emerge victorious. Regarding ladies football, the chairman congratulated Kildangan Nurney senior ladies, who won the league.
Our underage numbers remain strong, highlighted by the fact that the Cúl camp numbers again exceeded 100. In closing, the Chairman thanked the club sponsors The Worrell family, who helped the club in numerous ways throughout the year, Kildangan Stud, the many other sponsors, the club supporters and last, but not least the executive committee.
Following from the chairman's address the following committee was elected for 2014:
Honorary President: Jim Miller 
Life Presidents

John Casey
Tom Moran Snr
Joe Pender
Executive Committee
Chairman: Gabriel Murtagh - 086 2237571 
Vice Chairman: Mel O'Dowd - 087 2844728   
Secretary: Maureen Fitzgerald - 087 2286416
Assistant Secretary: Jennifer Dunne
Treasurer: Fiona Whelan - 085 7155951
Assistant Treasurer: Leanne Kelly
Registrar: Maureen Fitzgerald - 087 2286416
PRO: Michael Higgins - 086 3585580 
Youth Officer - Leanne Kelly

Committee Members
Norrie Quigley
John Kilbride
Richard Holligan 
John Reilly
John Miller
John Nealon
Robbie Irvine
Eileen Miller
Thomas Moran
Mary Claire O Fearghail

IN AOB it was agreed to formalise the juvenile committee. Other motions passed included changes to membership fees.